The Specific Carbohydrate Diet
Frequently Asked Questions
Splenda (sucralose) has been extensively discussed and it is not allowed for several reasons.
First, most splenda is packed in a filler called maltodextrin. This is a starch and is very difficult to digest. So it is not allowed on the diet.
Splenda, aka sucralose, is a sucrose-like molecule. Basically, they have added Chlorine atoms to sucrose to make it indigestible by humans. However, since it is not digestible by us, it does not get absorbed and passes down the GI tract. It is digestible by bacteria. So in essence, if you consume sucralose, you are sending down an energy source to the bacteria you are trying to starve. So sucralose is not allowed.
Like I originally wrote, according to the label it's a 0 carbohydrate product.
Maybe I can be of assistance. One has to understand the laws of labeling in order to determine what they are getting. For instance, any product with maltodextrin in it can state it is a zero carbohydrate product - even though maltodextrin is 100% carbohydrate. Why you might ask? Because the human body cannot digest maltodextrin - but the bacteria in our guts *can*. The same is true with soy. There are indigestible carbohydrates (by humans) in soy products so they are not required to be in the Total Carb label... However, the labels do not have to include the carbs that can feed bacteria... and bacteria have an amazing ability to digest almost any carbon based molecule.. I know that you stated that you are a vegetarian, but if you want to try the SCD without too much interference, I would try an egg based protein powder instead of soy - otherwise you won't be on the SC Diet as long as you're eating a soy product.
Back to Frequently Asked Questions - Table of Contents
Back to PecanBread